Tags

I am currently taking a photogravure class. It’s unlike anything I have tried before, I am so excited about this new process of photo making, what makes this process so alluring is the numerous steps it takes to get one image. The first step is preparing the plate, then preparing the image, then transferring the image to the plate, next is etching the plate, and finally printing the gravure. Without describing the small details within each step, I hope you can get an idea of the labor that goes into making a single image. Lately, I’ve been obsessed with learning about early alternative processes. I have always had in interest with early photography processes; I suppose I have a deeper connection with the images I make when so much time is invested in one photograph.

I have taken it upon myself to attempt to print a color photogravure. I am completely captivated by this image.

I have taken it upon myself to attempt to print a color photogravure. I am completely captivated by this image.

Requiem, Susan Middleton

This website says everything you would ever want to know about photogravure.

http://www.photogravure.com/process/process.html